Beauty in unexpected places…

The sky has always fascinated me, I really am drawn to it. Maybe it’s because it’s forever changing or it could because we have no true idea of its limits or what else is out there. Mystery of the unknown combined with striking beauty is powerfully enchanting. When we stop to appreciate the things around us, we find ourselves happy solely because of the simple things in life. Being hypnotised by a beautiful sunrise, falling in love with a sunset; life really is all about creating those perfect scrapbook memories and sharing moments that will be reminisced with people close to us for years to come. 

I love that wide-eyed feeling when you’re gazing out of a plane window and the clouds suddenly dissolve to reveal a landscape so magnificent that you instantly recognise just how small you are and how much of the world there is left to discover. The New York skyline at night never fails to captivate me. Manhattan at sunset is quite simply, perfection. It dazzles me and makes me want to pause time so I can stay in magical moment. It’s amazing how the angle of sunlight can make everything beneath it look even more beautiful, especially water.  

I’ve got such vivid memories of sitting on a beach in Fiji and seeing the most spectacular starry sky of my life. It’s the sort of memory that my camera couldn’t capture but I’ll never forget. The night sky was so clear and free from pollution that the stars were out in their thousands. Perfect darkness illuminated by thousands of twinkling lights and the peaceful sound of the ocean waves – it completely took my breath away. Whenever I look up at a starry sky, I always marvel at how far away the stars are, how many millions of stars there are out there and how long it takes for us to see them. It really is extraordinary how everything we see in the Universe is, in reality, a past event. It takes such a long time for the light from the stars to reach us, that actually, the moment of luminosity we are enchanted by, is a snapshot of the past that could have happened thousands of years ago, rather than something that is happening in real time. What’s even more incredible is that some of the stars we admire in the sky may not even exist anymore. This concept completely blows my mind. One day, I’d love to see the Northern Lights…

I was looking back at some old phone photos today and realised I never posted these…

Earlier this year, I was driving with my family along a road in the East Midlands of England (probably the most unlikely place you’d expect to find something beautiful) and the sky was so incredible that we had stop the car, pull over in a lay by and just take a moment to stop and stare. From one angle, the sky looked on fire, from the other, a perfect mix of pastels. The amazing colours didn’t last for long as it soon began to rain, the sun set and the sky darkened, but I managed to capture a little bit of this perfection. 

Image

Image

Image

Image

When you look at the sky you realise how truly beautiful the world is around us. Who defines what beauty is? Sometimes, rather than travelling great distances, all we have to do is open our eyes and look nearby. So never stop admiring what’s around you, life is all about finding beauty in the most unexpected places…

Image

